Tombstone Tuesday: Need a Sign of Spring

16 02 2010

This is getting ridiculous. As I am sitting here, it is *still* snowing. More snow on top of the 8 inches we got yesterday — which was on top of the 9 inches we got last week. I need Spring!

With that in mind, this week’s Tombstone Tuesday features the tombstone of Susan Esenbock Johns (1948-2006) in Lexington Cemetery, Lexington, Kentucky. The flower is stained glass. Until I went to Lexington a couple of years ago, I had never seen stained glass incorporated into a tombstone, but there were numerous ones there.

Susan Esenbock Johns, Lexington Cemetery, Lexington, Kentucky. Photo by Amy Crow, 15 September 2007. Copyright 2007, Amy Johnson Crow; all rights reserved.

If you ever have a chance to go to Lexington Cemetery, be certain to have your camera, fresh batteries, and plenty of space on your memory card. In the morning and afternoon I was there, I took nearly 200 photos. I have some of my favorite Lexington stones posted on my Flickr page.

Actions

Information

One response

26 10 2011
Joe Esenbock, Jr

This is my sisters grave, my brother-in law Tommy had this stone made in Maine it is Black Granite and the flower is a gardenia her favorite. Sis died from Leukemia in Tenn. and was brought home to rest with our parents.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

