Masonic Celtic Cross

6 11 2008

I love celtic crosses, so when I found the one below in Pataskala Cemetery in Licking County, I had to take a picture.

 

Calloway monument, Pataskala Cemetery, Licking County, Ohio. Photo taken by Amy Crow, 26 December 2007. All rights reserved.

Calloway monument, Pataskala Cemetery, Licking County, Ohio. Photo taken by Amy Crow, 26 December 2007. All rights reserved.

It was rather cold the day I was there, so I didn’t stand around and examine the cross very closely. Imagine my surprise when I got home and was looking at the close-up photo I took of the cross and found Masonic symbols in the celtic design.

 

Close-up of celtic cross with Masonic symbols. Calloway monument, Pataskala Cemetery, Licking County, Ohio. Photo taken by Amy Crow, 26 December 2007. All rights reserved.

Close-up of celtic cross with Masonic symbols. Calloway monument, Pataskala Cemetery, Licking County, Ohio. Photo taken by Amy Crow, 26 December 2007. All rights reserved.

It is the first and, so far, only celtic cross I’ve seen with Masonic symbols.

Actions

Information

4 responses

6 11 2008
Denise Olson

I’m a sucker for celtic crosses too and this is beautifully carved. The entire monument is quite impressive. Very nice.

6 11 2008
Amy

Thank you! I’ve seen Irish symbols in a celtic cross before (I should dig out the pics), but never Masonic symbols — or any fraternal symbols, for that matter.

7 11 2008
Wendy Littrell

I probably have ancestors or collateral family members buried in Licking County! Thanks for posting the photos of the beautiful crosses!

7 11 2008
Amy

If you know which cemeteries, I’d be happy to take pictures!

Leave a Reply

